Ball State Economics Club’s Chicago Trip

I went on the Ball State Economics Club’s annual Chicago trip from April 7-8. On April 7, I visited the University Chicago Campus and the Federal Reserve Bank and enjoyed delicious deep-dish pizza from Giordanos. On April 8, I visited the Illinois Policy Institute and Newberry Library. I especially enjoyed learning about the Illinois Policy Institute and how they use free market principles in generating public policy solutions. For example, the Illinois Policy Institute has advocated for food truck owners to be allowed to operate their businesses to encourage entrepreneurship in the state. At the Newberry Library, I was able to look through a first edition copy of Adam Smith’s The Wealth of Nations, which was a really neat experience. Other organizations my peers visited included Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, and Rohner Letter Press. This was my second year going on the trip and I enjoyed seeing my economics coursework applied in the real world.
-Maggie Tillotson

 

Leave a Reply

